• Party to the CBD – Jun. 1995
  • Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety – Sept. 2003
  • Nagoya Protocol on benefit sharing – Nov. 2016
  • Nagoya – Kuala Lumpur Supplementary Protocol on Liability and Redress – Mar. 2018

 Legal Status                      

  • Biosafety Law 01 Dec 2008- Loi n°08-042/AN – RM

 Competent Authority   

  • Ministry of the Environment

National Focal Point

  • Ministry of the Environment

Biosafety Regulations/Guidelines

  • Regulation for composition and operating procedures of the national biosafety committee – Decree n°10-683/P-RM, December 2010

Participating Institutions/Agencies        

  • Agence Nationale de la S´ecurit´e Sanitaire des aliments
  • National Directorate of the Administration of Justice
  • National Directorate of Plantation and Development
  • National Directorate of Water and Forests
  • National Directorate of Trade and Competition a representative of the National Directorate of Industries
  • National Directorate of Veterinary Services
  • National Directorate of Agriculture
  • National Directorate of the Interior
  • National Directorate of Animal Production and Livestock
  • National Directorate of Supreme Education and Scientific Research
  • General Directorate of Customs
  • National Center for Scientific Research and Technology
  • National Food Safety Agency of the Senate
  • The Institute of Rural Economy
  • Central Veterinary Laboratory
  • The Biosafety Laboratory
  • National Ethics Committee for Health and Sciences

Regulatory Review and Approval Processes

  • Under development

Confined Field Trial Approvals

  • None

Environmental Approvals

  • None